Tecsun PL-330 Absolute beginner!

FenDrifter

Hi all
My first post here, and bear in mind I know nothing! To compound that problem I’m an OLD man. Okay, a brand new PL-330 turned up yesterday and I realised that was a lot more complicated than my previous Tivdio V-115. I will probably have a 1001 more questions, but for now just one. When using with headphones for the first time last night I was a bit surprised to find that when I switched the radio off (headphones still on) the sound didn’t immediately stop, but faded away. Is this a feature of this radio or a fault please?
Any help greatly appreciated. 

Rémy Friess

Hi,
Mine does the same. This doesn't seem to be a fault.
73, R.F.

Le 23/12/2021 à 18:35, FenDrifter via groups.io a écrit :
Hi all
My first post here, and bear in mind I know nothing! To compound that problem I’m an OLD man. Okay, a brand new PL-330 turned up yesterday and I realised that was a lot more complicated than my previous Tivdio V-115. I will probably have a 1001 more questions, but for now just one. When using with headphones for the first time last night I was a bit surprised to find that when I switched the radio off (headphones still on) the sound didn’t immediately stop, but faded away. Is this a feature of this radio or a fault please?
Any help greatly appreciated. 

FenDrifter

Many thanks Réme for answering such a stupid question!

Guero

Actually a very interesting question! My pl330 does the same whether I am using headphones or the internal speaker. Maybe a capacitor to the audio amp is losing the last of it's charge after the switch is thrown?

--Dave

On Thu, Dec 23, 2021, 17:54 FenDrifter via groups.io <essexmarshman=icloud.com@groups.io> wrote:
Many thanks Réme for answering such a stupid question!

FenDrifter

I have to admit that even with my extremely limited knowledge, it did occur to me that it might possibly be related to a discharging capacitor Dave. I’ll check if mine does the same thing with the speaker.

FenDrifter