Re: Morning logs

Tony Germanotta

The thing about this ULing, I have found, is I am listening to a whole lot more religious talk than I ever did in my agnostic life. (And a lot of political screamers that I had always avoided because as a journalist, I believe a story has more than one side.) They do seem to be the most powerful stations on any frequency and, like Hebrew National hotdogs, answer only to a higher authority. 

The Hondurans would be a nice catch. I have a lot of trouble figuring out the IDs in Spanish, though. I sit on a frequency and they go into their TOH or BOH patter and I never do know when they are giving a call sign. Even the US stations I find are pretty lax in identifying in English anymore. 

I caught one this morning, though, WMET 1160 in Gaithersburg Md. that went nearly the entire hour before giving an Engish ID. I needed the SAT for this one, it's a pretty long haul for late morning. There was lots of patter between songs that probably would have provided a clue. But the music was fun.  I guess I'll have to do a little Rosseta Stoning or be content to rule out half of the bandscans.

On Feb 26, 2010, at 11:40 AM, jim_kr1s wrote:

Fired up the PL-380 at 0945Z today. That's 4:45 a.m. local time. First check was 530, where RVC and R Enciclopedia were at opposing nulls, but both pretty weak. Cuba did not ID at TOH as they usually do, but there was the F announcer and instrumental music, and I doubt anything from Toronto made it this far south today.  This means I have to get up early next Thursday morning to see whether yesterday's situation was exceptional.