Re: Newcomer from Spain

Mike Sanburn

Welcome Jorge!
Mike Sanburn KG6LJU
Lakewood Cailfornia USA 

From: main@UltralightDX.groups.io <main@UltralightDX.groups.io> on behalf of Jorge Garzón via groups.io <iberiaDX@...>
Sent: Saturday, November 7, 2020 11:31 PM
To: main@ultralightdx.groups.io <main@ultralightdx.groups.io>
Subject: [UltralightDX] Newcomer from Spain

Hi, 
My name is Jorge and I write you from Northern Spain, region of Cantabria. I live in a quiet rural area where I have a lovely countryside, a beautiful landscape and something very important for a radiolistener and DXer: low to very low QRM and noise. In the past I lived in Australia, New Zealand and France. I am a ham operator with call EB7EFA and SWL EA1036. 

I will try to express myself in English, so I apologize for any written misleading that I make, and PSE tell me in case of this happens. 

I am involved in radiolistening since 1980 mainly devoted to LW (Utilities and NDB) and MW broadcasting and maritime comms. Now that I already have 35 yr as a DXer, I remember when I started in 1999 to run LW/MW DXP to the Coast of Portugal that after a long discontinued period, I started them again in 2019. 

Would be extremely long and maybe boring to bring here my different times as a DXer but I will highlight my first receiver in 1980 offered by my parents, an analog Grundig YB300 which one I discovered the (radio)world. Years later I got a Sony ICF-2010, an after an ICOM R71A and a smaller SONY SW55 (this one much better to fit in my rucksack as I often go walking and I am a keen bycicle tourer). Unfortunately, these two latests were lost when I moved in 2006 to Granada, as the moving services lost one of my boxes with these stuff and part of my QSL collection. A real loss!!